BMW
X7 and XM
forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW X7 (G07) Forums General BMW X7 Forum What is your biggest disappointment in your X7?

02-24-2020, 07:35 AM   #1
Joemac8
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2019 X7 40i

What is your biggest disappointment in your X7?

I traded in a 2015 Suburban for my 2019 X7 40i. With the Suburban, I came to rely on the alerts I got when in reverse. If I were backing from a parking spot between two cars, the Suburban verbally alerted me to approaching cars from either direction. It also alerted me of a person approaching going to walk behind my vehicle.

The BMW does none of this. I am a careful driver, but I am also an older driver and can use all of the help I can get. If when backing from a parking space I turn around in the seat to my right, I can't see a person who suddenly appears from the left. My Suburban detected that person and beeped, causing me to brake.

I found this disappointment only after I bought the car. Foolishly, I thought it "standard" on all premium vehicles. This seems like a simple and readily available feature, why doesn't my very expensive BMW have it?
Appreciate 1
      02-24-2020, 07:41 AM   #2
Paultattoo
Paul Tattoo
Rep
Drives: 2024 BMW X7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joemac8 View Post
I traded in a 2015 Suburban for my 2019 X7 40i. With the Suburban, I came to rely on the alerts I got when in reverse. If I were backing from a parking spot between two cars, the Suburban verbally alerted me to approaching cars from either direction. It also alerted me of a person approaching going to walk behind my vehicle.

The BMW does none of this. I am a careful driver, but I am also an older driver and can use all of the help I can get. If when backing from a parking space I turn around in the seat to my right, I can't see a person who suddenly appears from the left. My Suburban detected that person and beeped, causing me to brake.