BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications

12-19-2021, 01:17 PM   #1
Scrippy
Lord Scrip
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011 M3 Coupe

Garage List
  [0.00]
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Hey guys,

I need a little help with 27B0 "secondary airflow low Bank 1". I have been battling this for 2 months now. So far I have replaced the following parts cleared codes and it seems to come back every 3rd or 4th cold start. No other codes or operational issues, just smelly exhaust. Air pump has strong suction at cold start. Can the pump be turned on with INPA?

1-Replaced both air valves w/gaskets on back of engine.
*Old valves were good still and engine block ports clear of obstructions when scoped.
2-Replaced the Y-hose from pump to valves.
*No cracks or leaks on old hose.
3-All (4) O2 sensors.

Could this just be an exhaust leak at the header flange just before O2's? I ordered new donut gaskets but they haven't arrived yet. Any relevant ideas are appreciated!
      12-22-2021, 06:32 PM   #2
Scrippy
Lord Scrip
United_States
Rep

Garage List
  [0.00]
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Well at this point I'm throwing parts at this. I just put on new exhaust donut gaskets at the flanges. I guess I'll see after a few cold starts if this is my fix.
      12-22-2021, 07:51 PM   #3
rcracin
Major
Rep
Drives: M3

Donut gaskets is what I would've suggested.

If you’re running cats and have a smelly exhaust, then it’s a leak before the cats which is gonna be either donut gaskets or header gaskets.

If donut gaskets don’t solve it, remove the xpipe and stick a smoke machine into the header flange and see if you find a leak.
Appreciate 1
Scrippy1823.00
      12-22-2021, 08:44 PM   #4
Scrippy
Lord Scrip
United_States
Rep

Garage List
  [0.00]
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcracin View Post
Donut gaskets is what I would've suggested.