BMW
X7 and XM
forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW X7 (G07) Forums General BMW X7 Forum Ceramic Coating or PPF or Both?

06-15-2019, 09:30 AM   #1
ronmramsayii
United_States
Rep
Drives: 20' X3 M40i & X4 M40i

Ceramic Coating or PPF or Both?

Hey Peeps,

I'm new to the BMW world and will be ordering the X7 M50i sometime soon. It's my first time purchasing a vehicle in this class and will be doing a 36 month lease term. I've seen people getting ceramic coating or ppf, and some even getting a combination of the two.

For a leased vehicle, what would you guys recommend? Ceramic coatings are more cost effective, but don't protect against rock chips as well as ppf does. Is that something I need to concern myself with considering it's a lease?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated folks.
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2019, 10:15 AM   #2
dmann33
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 07 650i

I've buried myself in this. On a lease and given the cost of ppf, it would give me great pause. If anything, I think I would stick to a 3 year coating for conveneince and be done with it. Something like gtechniq Crystal Serum Light or their exo. Its a rental car, so I would not go too fancy.
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2019, 10:20 AM   #3
ronmramsayii
United_States
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmann33 View Post
I've buried myself in this. On a lease and given the cost of ppf, it would give me great pause. If anything, I think I would stick to a 3 year coating for conveneince and be done with it. Something like gtechniq Crystal Serum Light or their exo. Its a rental car, so I would not go too fancy.
Quote:
That's what I'm thinking as well. I live in Atlanta where there's a lot of construction going on but I can't say the rounds are terrible, at least where I do most of my driving.

I may also consider just getting the front bumper, hood and mirrors wrapped and do the rest in Ceramic. It's definitely cheaper.
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2019, 11:36 AM   #4
VTENGR
Lieutenant Colonel