F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Tracking / Racing / Autocrossing > Tracking my 335i
Studio RSR

12-15-2014, 02:14 PM   #1
BmwFlooner
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2013 M-Sport 335i 6MT

Tracking my 335i

So, my poor 12 year old Eclipse may have to be retired soon. I've been tracking and autocrossing it, but the repair and maintenance is starting to get to the point where it doesn't make sense not to invest that money in performance parts for my 335i.

I'm fairly new to the whole performance driving scene, and BMWs, so I don't know what to expect from normal wear & tear and maintenance costs if I start taking the BMW out. I'm also not sure what to expect from long-term performance driving. We're talking maybe 1 event a month.

Or does it make sense to get another dedicated track car (My wife actually offered that suggestion, which blew my mind.)

My BMW is an F30 335i M-Sport 6MT with DHP. A dedicated track car would need to be in the 15k range, so it would need to be a used 'something'. Preferably a RWD coup.

What would you guys do?
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2014, 06:11 PM   #2
nicknaz
Lieutenant General
Rep
Drives: C6Z

EDIT: Miata (always the answer!)

In all seriousness, I think you should start by swapping tires on the 335 to see how you like it. I've had good luck with dunlop zii

Last edited by nicknaz; 12-16-2014 at 07:03 PM..
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2014, 09:23 PM   #3
BmwFlooner
Second Lieutenant
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicknaz View Post

In all seriousness, I think you should start by swapping tires on the 335 to see how you like it. I've had good luck with dunlop zii
I'm not ruling out a used Miata. I'm also not ruling out a used S2000.
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2014, 07:32 AM   #4
G30 B58
Pace Car Driver
Rep
Drives: '22 AW G30 B58 M-Sport

Quote: