F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Suspension | Chassis | Brakes > Lowering on xdrive
GetBMWParts

05-20-2015, 04:39 PM   #1
kzflags
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2017 C63 coupe

Lowering on xdrive

Does anyone know what the implications are of lowering your xdrive car with coil overs? I was on another thread that just confused me. Buying a new set of 19s for my f30 and I wanted to drop it slightly in the process, but I have no experience doing that.

The plan is buying the coilovers and having the garage do the entire installation for me w mounting the wheels.
Appreciate 0
      05-20-2015, 05:14 PM   #2
Jimminez
Captain
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2014 F31 M-Sport

Not sure what your concerns are. You'll need to buy coilovers specific to the xDrive model and choose a shop who has done it before so they install them properly.

I have a xDrive and installed KW V2 coilovers and have had no issues.

Past - F31 M Sport Estoril Blue - Thread - Pic

Current - 2021 Audi RS6 Avant
Appreciate 0
      05-20-2015, 05:27 PM   #3
itrocks4u
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: F80, F36, E90

Coil overs is actually a preferred route then just getting lowering springs. The only caution is that if you end up having a suspension related issue which bmw can relate to the coilovers,it will not be covered. besides that just make sure you get the right part.
Appreciate 0
      05-20-2015, 06:54 PM   #4
kzflags
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2017 C63 coupe

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimminez View Post
Not sure what your concerns are. You'll need to buy coilovers specific to the xDrive model and choose a shop who has done it before so they install them properly.

I have a xDrive and installed KW V2 coilovers and have had no issues.
From another thread I was on,