BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

02-03-2016, 08:59 AM   #1
S2kM2dan
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2018 LBB M2 6MT

Reliability Issues with 1M?

I absolutely love the 1M, has been my dream car for a while.
Now that I am thinking of buying one, I am worried since it wont have warranty. Do I need to worry about the turbos going out like the 335i's and the 135i's ?

Would suck to spend another 5-10k on top to replace that.

I been looking into the M2 just for peace of mind, but im not in love with it like I am with the 1M..

Any advice or thoughts that could ease my mind for the 1M?

Thanks
Appreciate 1
      02-03-2016, 09:40 AM   #2
BarleyE92
Private
Rep
Drives: 2008 E92 M sport

I'm new to owning a 1m, but i would be up s**ts creek if it wasn't for the BMW warranty. In one month I've had all 6 injectors replaced, o2 sensors, a fuel pump and coils. I'm fairly confident that the car only had one issue, and BMW staggered the replacement of parts to (in the short team) keep costs down, but it was a pain. I've since extended my BMW warranty for £600 for the year. An absolute no brainer. I can keep driving with peace of mind now.

The cars are absolutely fantastic, and feel really special. I can't recommend one enough.
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2016, 10:26 AM   #3
nachob
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2004 330i ZHP, 2022 Cayman T

Quote:
Originally Posted by thanu31 View Post
Now that I am thinking of buying one, I am worried since it wont have warranty. Do I need to worry about the turbos going out like the 335i's and the 135i's ?

I been looking into the M2 just for peace of mind, but im not in love with it like I am with the 1M..

Thanks