E90Post

Coby Wheel

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > How to fix N54 Rear Turbo Wastegate rattle.

03-05-2016, 03:49 AM   #1
Dommyem
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: ford fiesta

How to fix N54 Rear Turbo Wastegate rattle.

I decided this needed it's own thread:

THIS IS COMPLETE. PLEASE READ THIS COMPLETELY BEFORE YOU START AS THERE ARE STEPS THAT DIDN'T WORK AND I HAD TO UPDATE PARTS. - Good luck

I have the same rattle as everyone else so went looking for a new turbo. I managed to buy a replacement 2nd hand rear turbo form Lithuania..... and it turns out that it had the same issue as the one on my car even though I told the guy to check that the wastegate would only pivot and not rock back and forth (must have smashed into the language barrier nicely!).

Ok, so I am a mechanical design engineer by trade and I will try my best to offer you a permanent fix to this issue.

Since I have this new faulty turbo at hand I will try to repair it.

The plan is:

1. I am going to attempt to remove the wastergate from the turbo by disconnecting the actuator with the small E-Clip, and grinding off the weld that holds the linkage arm to open/close the wastegate.

2. Try to remove the worn bush (which I hear looks elliptical from the wear).

3. Make a new bush out of Stainless Steel 304 (I have access to a lathe).

4. Fit the new bush.

5. Re-fit the wastegate by carefully welding the linkage back on so that the thing still rotates, and the wastegate seals against the port in the turbo.

6. Re-connect the linkage to the actuator.

7. Finally, take my car and the fixed turbo to the garage to have the turbo swapped with my other faulty one on the car.