E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Best oil to keep the temps down without an oil cooler????

05-25-2016, 04:18 AM   #1
mightbaal
g35x
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2008 BMW 335XI

Best oil to keep the temps down without an oil cooler????

Alright well I went from Mobil 1 to Castrol for the LL-01 reasons and have nothing but problems keeping my oil temp down now running map 7 on a E85 BEF FBO. I never ever had problems with mobil 1 but now my JB4 kicks me to stock boost when I'm in the twisties.... I know alot of people will say its not the oil or its not possible but I beg to differ. I am 2008 335xi no oil cooler. I want my engine to last as long as possible as they are expensive as heck and I am a very spirited driver 69k on the clock atm.
Appreciate 0
      05-25-2016, 06:22 AM   #2
olivojoe
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2011 335i xDrive

Garage List
I could have sworn I saw a post on this the other day, hate to say it but the consensus from what I remember was oil type wont make a difference. Best bet is retrofit an oil cooler or run a higher ratio of distilled water:coolant in the summer months to help make the cooling system more efficient.

If you think about it from an energy standpoint, oil's main purpose is not to pull heat off the block, but to lubricate. The top end of the engine isn't "swimming" in oil, it just basically gets poured over all the moving parts to reduce friction and wear. I have even heard people on here that tax the oil temps pretty hard in the hot summer months even with an oil cooler. The main functions of pulling heat from the engine are the cooling system and ambient air passing through the engine bay at speed.