E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Eonon GA6165f review/help

12-10-2016, 03:36 PM   #1
hugyourewoks
Enlisted Member
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2001 540iT

Garage List
Eonon GA6165f review/help

Hello everyone! I recently purchased a Eonon ga6165f Android 5.1 GPS STEREO DVD PLAYER NAV meow meow meow (https://goo.gl/cvHzGy), and wanted to give some feed back to the e90post community and especially to my fellow E91 owners. Wagon DIY guides and other general information is hard to come by (at least from the scope of my searching).
Background: I am the proud owner of a 2007 E91 XI 6 speed wagon. She has over 200K miles; I'm a Coast Guard Machinery Technician and I love working on her. To date I have completed a new clutch install, three stage intake swap (haven't been tuned yet), primary cat delete, and other basic preventative maintenance like spark plugs, serpentine belt, brakes, and the like.
The main reason I went with the Eonon unit was relative cheap pricing, relative OEM look, relative OEM functionality within the CAN BUS, Android based for ease of connectivity, GPS nav, and Bluetooth music. The install was pretty straightforward, plug the eonon wiring harness into the BMW one, hook up the left and right audio channels and antenna. The BMW bracket that held the BMW Professional radio is removed and you replace it with a piece of metal that is quite sharp. I have several cuts on my wrist that look suspect. I ran the GPS and external Mic wires through under the dash like in this video made by Eonon for an older model of the head unit (
). The hardest part was trying to find a fuse for constant power. The start up time isn't over long, I just like to have music as soon as I get in my car (younger generation, perhaps?). I used this forum post for general information about constant power
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1016187