THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics B58 (M240i) Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Tuning B58 BMS intake/jb4/clutch stop and vm downpipe install/review

12-29-2016, 02:45 AM   #1
ko113
Rep
Drives: m240i

B58 BMS intake/jb4/clutch stop and vm downpipe install/review

Hey guys I thought Id do kind of a review of the install and results for anyone on the fence. To note, I am fairly new to working on cars and am not really a wrench guy.

[BMS intake]
Install: super simple, everything went as according to their install guide

Results: As similarly reported, cant feel any improvements in power. No sound difference until 4k+ rpm when I get a kind of whistling sound. Not sure if its really an improvement, but it makes the engine bay look nicer.

[VM catless downpipe]
Install: Did not come with any instructions even though the vendor told me they would be included. So I used this guide: http://www.2addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=970868
A couple things to note:
I did not need e10/e12 bits.
When i reinstalled the 02 sensors, the black upper sensor was at an extreme angle so that the sensor cable had tension when in the groove, so I left it off the groove.
While preparing for the install I read quite a bit of threads that talked about downpipe gaskets, I did not see or feel any gasket when removing the stock downpipe, though it may have just been in a groove as others have noted.

Results:
I have driven around 80 miles and still have not gotten a CEL. I have the jb4 ready when it comes.
I now get a very strong exhaust/unburnt fuel smell that my neighbor described as “running rich”. This is normal right?
If anything, I want to say my butt dyno feels less power in the low rpms, but that might just be my imagination. There is definitely an increase in power at the higher rpm.

[JB4 tune]