E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > General questions about the 335i aftermarket from a BMW noob.

05-24-2008, 01:57 AM   #1
Kadarin
Ambassador of Crunk
United_States
Rep
Drives: SG/blk '08 E92 M3

General questions about the 335i aftermarket from a BMW noob.

I'm new to the BMW world, as I've owned my new '08 335i for just one month (as of today). So far I've modded this car by lowering it with the H&R Sport spring kit, the Dinan Stage 2 flash, and the Dinan exhaust. I absolutely love this car!

My other car is an '05 Pontiac GTO with JBA 50-state legal headers and a Corsa Sport catback.

In comparing the aftermarket for my BMW with that for my GTO, some differences become apparent, and my question is whether this is primarily due to the relatively short time the N54 has been available, or if it's a characteristic of the aftermarket for turbocharged cars in general that mods only tend to take a certain direction.

In the case of the BMW, available performance mods tend to be restricted to exhaust (inc downpipes), CAIs, ECM tuning options, and intercoolers.

With regard to the LS1 and LS2 in the GTO, available performance mods will also include headers, intake manifolds (not just CAIs), camshafts, cylinder heads, underdrive pulley systems, fuel systems (i.e. larger injectors), modified engine blocks, aftermarket FI systems (including twin turbo kits, nitrous oxide, and several different supercharger designs).

Has anyone in the N54 world thought about putting the cylinder head on a flowbench and seeing if gains are possible through portwork or aftermarket castings? Can valve timing events be adjusted for larger gains?