F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Can you guys help me get my head around this?
Studio RSR

05-11-2018, 04:45 PM   #1
ghause
Rep
Drives: F36

Can you guys help me get my head around this?

Hi All,
I'm new to bmw. I've been a vw/ag guy for 20 years. I just bought a cpo f36 and LOVE it.

I just got an email from a local dealer, not the one I got the car from. They were offering me $50 off an alignment to the tune of $200. This is more than the shop rate for an hours work - after discount.

I've driven GTIs for the last eight years. I realize work at the dealer is overpriced. Firestone will provide alignments for the length of your ownership of a vehicle for $200.

Is there anything about the f36 that would warrant more than an hour for an alignment? Are there some tools needed that you can only get from Rivendel?
Appreciate 0
      05-11-2018, 08:31 PM   #2
VCuomo
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 2012 BMW 335i Sportline

Why are you surprised that the dealer is trying to separate you from the money that's in your wallet?
Appreciate 0
      05-11-2018, 08:34 PM   #3
cngo
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: BMW

Way overpriced. But no matter the price, do yourself a favor and never get your car aligned at a dealership.
Appreciate 0
      05-11-2018, 09:15 PM   #4
Billfitz
Lieutenant General
United_States
Rep
Drives: '15 328iX GT

BMW alignments average between $150-$200. My dealer is offering a spring alignment special right now for $129. The $50 off you were offered is a phony discount to lure you in.
Appreciate 0
      05-11-2018, 09:49 PM   #5
jv004
Captain
Rep
Drives: X3M Comp