BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

07-31-2008, 02:32 AM   #1
Pneumatic
Pneumatic
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: 2004 X3 2.0d sport

Brake disc wear

Hi to all

I'm new to the X3 experience but wish I'd got one years ago now! Just bought a 'approved used' (used to be called second hand didn't it) 2.0d sport and I love driving it.

I've just noticed that the front discs seem to be well worn - there's quite a lip on both sets at the front - does anyone know what the acceptable minimum thickness should be? I'm assuming a wear indicator light would come on if it was dangerous.

Car has done 45k miles

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2008, 12:35 AM   #2
Johnn
Rep
Drives: 2004 X3 2.5i

Judging rotor wear from feeling the amount of lip is misleading. Some have more of a lip when new than others. My '04 with 21K highway miles, has a definite lip, and I know the pads (original) are less than 20% worn. As you probably know, German vehicles tend to coat their wheels in brake dust - meaning that the design consideration is to not go for harder pads (and consequently greater rotor wear).
Not aware of any warning light associated with rotor thickness - just the usual things (fluid level, ABS, pad thickness).
Most X3 owners get in the range of 50K -65K miles before pads and rotors need replacing, but of course, driving style and urban/highway mix are a big factor.
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2008, 02:10 AM   #3
Pneumatic
Pneumatic
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: 2004 X3 2.0d sport

Many thanks for that erudite reply John, excellent advice - you've put my mind at rest. I'll ask the garage where we bought it just to have a quick look to see if they say the same as you, then I can show off with my (newly acquired) knowledge.
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2013, 10:58 AM   #4
Goosey4370
Rep
Drives: X3 30D M-Sport

Front disc wear

The warning light is for pad wear and not the discs.