BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

08-04-2019, 12:27 PM   #1
BMW-Newbie
United_States
Rep
Drives: BMW X3 M401

Garage List
2017 BMW 430ix  [0.00]
2018 BMW X3 M40i  [0.00]
+1 First Impression

Hi All,

Test drove the X3M yesterday. I'm an X3 M40i owner for 1 year. Worshipped performance cars my whole life but I'm new to actually being around them. Point being, I'm easier to impress than the dudes who can rattle off the last 10 code names of all the M cars they've owned.

Dropped the wife and kid off for a haircut and ran down to the dealer. As I pulled up, the X3M they had was pulling out; darn it! Fortunately, it came back. SA said they have a line waiting to order it: 5 people.

Looks — Exterior
I'm one who b!tched and moaned about it looking "the same" as an M40i. I take all that back. Everything about the car is better in person. Donnington grey is really all that. Compared to my white M40i the lines are so sharp I wanted to drop a piece of paper on it to see if it'd get sliced in half like on a katana blade.

In person, its presence and looks were far more "M-like" than I expected. Even the wheels; seeing their stance and curves in person made an impression on me. (I had also complained about them before; dimwit.)

That being said, anyone who says the rear spoiler does anything for the looks is still full of baloney IMHO. (Different things stick out for different folks I guess.)

Looks — Interior
Had the black and tan and boy it really pops. Cabin seemed brighter and more upscale. I know some folks on here talk like they were born in a Ferrari and weaned on the teats of a Lamborghini, but I thought it was really nice. Like the exterior, it felt more M-like in person.

Steering Tire
The steering wheel is about 2 or 3 times thicker than the M40i's. It's like steering with a tractor tire; but I love it! The whole car is a bit ludicrous anyway, so why not?!

Sound