F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK - Off Topic > Track day for a beginner......
Extreme Powerhouse

08-11-2020, 06:09 AM   #1
M33DLO
Captain
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: F31 340i MPPSK.

Track day for a beginner......

Hey guys..
I'm now enjoying the 340i more then ever with it's recent MPPSK.
And I've been toying with the idea of a track day for many years with my previous cars and the focus is now on my 340i.

I'm a complete noob when it comes to track driving and although I'm keen to really open the 340i up I'm also somewhat apprehensive about the prospect.

So what's the score for a beginner like me?

I predict I'll be hustled by kids in ST's and owned by Golf R's but I still fancy a go as I'm keen to lean on the car in a safer environment.

Should I aim for 'beginner only' days?

Also, insurance. ? I guess this gets asked alot.
Ask my current insurer for a days quote or are the likes of specific track day insurers worth going with.?

I wont be planning to do this for a good few months anyway, most probably next year to be honest, so I have loadsa time to sort the specifics before booking myself in.
I'm in Cambs so any recommendations for events or circuits suited will be well appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      08-11-2020, 07:20 AM   #2
Firaxis
Captain
Rep
Drives: Car

There are plenty of driver instructed "hands on" courses where you can use your own car, I'd recommend starting there. It's a completely different way of driving on a track, make sure you read the etiquette guidelines or you wont last long.