Bimmerpost
/
4 Series
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Technical Topics B48 4-Cylinder Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications JB4

10-02-2020, 09:03 AM   #1
Fpangalos
Enlisted Member
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2019 BMW 330i

JB4

(Thanks for the suggestion to post in this section, deleted and reposted below)

So there's a few threads discussing JB4 installs, performance gains etc.. but as a total noob, I'm finding it difficult to find information on negatives from this piggy back tune.

My major concern is doing something to my car that will damage it long term. Simply put, I have to imagine the extra stress the tune puts on the engines can cause premature wear, or cause you're engine to "blow up"

Can anyone more versed in tunes than I am add a little color to educate me? From what I've gathered, I ordered a FTP charge pipe to help with the extra boost. I read that the OEM unit is plastic. What about the intake pipe? I understand the intake is already a CAI, but the intake pipe is plastic as well. Are there any other maintenance items I can do to help with the wear from extra stress?

One other question if anyone knows. If something should happen to the car, and I uninstall the JB4 before going to the dealer. Can they tell in the coding that it has had a piggyback tune?

Thanks in advance for the insight!
Attached Images

10-02-2020, 01:48 PM   #2
bquatt
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2020 330xi m-sport

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fpangalos View Post

So there's a few threads discussing JB4 installs, performance gains etc.. but as a total noob, I'm finding it difficult to find information on negatives from this piggy back tune.

My major concern is doing something to my car that will damage it long term. Simply put, I have to imagine the extra stress the tune puts on the engines can cause premature wear, or cause you're engine to "blow up"