forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW X7 (G07) Forums General BMW X7 Forum X7 Towing Specs

06-10-2021, 07:54 PM   #1
johnbomb
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2020 X7 4.0

I see there has been a lot of confusion regarding the towing capacity of the X7, both here and on the web. Hopefully, I can clarify here. I am not an expert and the information mentioned should not be used to determine real world use. Research your particular situation and needs.

First and foremost BMW!!! Hello and hopefully you read this. BMW needs to do a better job of explaining the towing specs on all the X vehicles and adding this detail to the website, not to mention better explaining other options/technologies on all your cars. BMW's vagueness on options is pretty bad. Do better BMW marketing department!

This information comes from my 2020 X7 4.0 Owners Manual. You can download the BMW Drivers Guide App for your BMW (Enter VIN) to your phone for reference.

Below applies to the 2020 X7 4.0, 5.0 and 50M. All the same. See the attached screen shot from the manual.

In short, if you ordered your X7 with the factory hitch option you can tow 7,507lbs/606lbs tongue, if the trailer has brakes.

If you ordered your X7 WITHOUT the factory hitch option and the hitch was installed at the dealer, your max towing capacity drops to 5,952lbs/606lbs tongue, if the trailer has brakes.

No idea if you went, for example to U-Haul. I'm sure it's not 7,500lbs though.

1653lbs if the trailer has no brakes.

The factory hitch option may include an added transmission cooler and/or bigger rear brakes. Not sure. (Update: from the comments below, brakes are upgraded on some models).

In short, just order the damn $500 factory hitch on your freakin' $80,000+++ X7!!! Don't get some aftermarket set-up to save $100. You know who you are…. I digress.