E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Rear Sub-frame pin or bush worn but not resulting in excessive movement

11-19-2023, 02:41 PM   #1
Xpoppyxx
Rep
Drives: BMW 320D E90

Rear Sub-frame pin or bush worn but not resulting in excessive movement

Hi folks,

I'm new here to the E90 forums and I'm hoping I might be able to get a bit of advice. I have recently purchased my first BMW 3 series. A 2011 BMW 320D 184HP (E90) to be precise. I've manged to pick it up for a fair price but this is due to there being a couple of bits and pieces as advisorys on its recent MOT. The majority of the work I can fix myself. For example the brake discs and pads along with the front control arms. I'm not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination but I know enough to complete these tasks myself. There is one item I haven't come across before so.i am hopeful that someone might be able to offer advice. The issue in question is as follows:

Rear Sub-frame pin or bush worn but not resulting in excessive movement

Is this a difficult task to fix? Or am I best off getting it to a garage, and if I was to take to it a garage has anyone got a rough idea of what I should expect to pay? Unfortunaly as a female there have been occasions where they see a woman coming and the prices increase. I'm not saying all mechs do this, but it does happen. So a rough ball park figure would be helpful.

Any advice on how to tackle this would be much appreciated.

Thanks for taking the time to help out
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2023, 07:49 PM   #2
CLEAN13BOOSTED
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2013 BMW E93 3351

Hi, are you able to attach picture of the worn bushing? Is it causing any noise or wheel alignment concerns?
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2023, 08:13 AM   #3
eljay
Colonel
Rep
Drives: ///M + E91

Welcome to the forum!
Lots of great info around here, so I'm sure we can help you out.