BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

04-03-2008, 07:12 AM   #1
white911
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 135I - white/coral red - sport

RFT track tire pressures

I am new to RFTs and Paul at Radial Tire told me these things generate lots of heat and may chunk. It seems like I should bring the pyrometer with me to Summit Point.

My most recent experience is with Toyo RA1s, R888s, and MPSCs. I generally get about 8-9 psi pressure rise on the 911 depending on the moisture content of the air in the tire.

Near full tread (1200 miles by the time I get there)
TGT hot pressure??
Cold starting pressure??

Appreciate 0
      04-03-2008, 07:18 AM   #2
atr_hugo
No longer moderate
No_Country
Rep
Drives: '13 135i

Alan - I'm trying to remember where the info is at - buried on page 12 of the general forum probably - but we had someone report back from the Gotland ring trip. They did have some comments specific to how the RE-050As performed and what they looked like at the end of the day. It wasn't pretty IIRC.
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2008, 08:23 AM   #3
ersatzS2
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 135i

Bstone run flats on the track, again...

Quote:
Originally Posted by atr_hugo View Post
Alan - I'm trying to remember where the info is at - buried on page 12 of the general forum probably - but we had someone report back from the Gotland ring trip. They did have some comments specific to how the RE-050As performed and what they looked like at the end of the day. It wasn't pretty IIRC.
Thought I'd revive this thread to ask does anyone have new information on pressures and how the rfts work at the track? I just returned from a track weekend at Mid OH (not driving the 1) where I shared garage w/some guys who shared a 335ix with the same Bstone rft. Despite the double duty, by Sunday they still looked pretty good. Great in fact.