E90Post

Coby Wheel

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Too Much Meth.... What the DME does if you run rich...

11-18-2010, 06:20 AM   #1
M3 Eater
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: 335i Sedan

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Too Much Meth.... What the DME does if you run rich...

I have been running meth now for about 6 months. I have been using JB3 as my tune and as a lot of folks know, there is some work to do to make sure that timing is sufficient for the level of boost being run.

I am currently waiting on the Jb3 G4 update to help log timing easier and provide more absolute boost delivery but dialing in the correct ammount, mix, psi delivery are crutial if you want a smooth timing curve.

I recently installed a DO # 10 nozzle/ Adapter in the flat spot on the stock charge pipe. I took a few runs to make sure I was reaching target boost and that there were no signifigant leaks in the system. After a few runs PWM dropped into a healthy range and I flipped over to BT to log timing.

On the first run timing was amazing until 4200rpms...it was 11.25 and then dropped to 7.8. This 8ish # seems to be the DME fall back point if it sees your running too rich. I have seen this drop several times when timing exceeds 11 degrees at RPM range of 4000. I THOUGHT I WASN'T GETTING ENOUGH METH. I kept looking for way to increase the meth at this RPM and what I was doing was making the situation worse. Its my theroy that there is in fact too much meth, timing is too high and the DME is adjusting for SAFETY...

I think that after a few runs the DME will figure out that we have plenty of fuel here to keep timing high but would the car run better even after adaptations occur at a lower octane rating?

Let's say I dial up the max psi delivery so that I am not getting a full dose in the beginning of 3rd gear. Keep timing under 11 until after say 5000rpms.