E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Hello

04-18-2012, 09:13 PM   #1
Tito335xi
There's no such thing as speeding.
Rep
Drives: Horse & Buggy

Post Hello

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to the BMW scene. Recently a buddy of mine bought a 6MT 335i & i fell in love. Previously I was more of an Acura person but that has now changed, lol. I am considering getting a 335xi in the very near future, any suggestions or tips on what I should know when buying a used bimmer? Does it have to be CPO? How many miles is too many miles? etc..
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2012, 09:33 PM   #2
Wilhelm
Private
Rep
Drives: 3281T

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tito335xi View Post
any suggestions or tips on what I should know when buying a used bimmer? Does it have to be CPO? How many miles is too many miles? etc..
It doesn't have to be a CPO but it takes a lot of the risk out of buying used. First, they only select cars least likely to fail for CPO, e.g., have maintenance histories, haven't been in an accident, etc. Second, they give a pretty comprehensive inspection to a CPO'd car. Third, they refurbish a lot of things. On my E91 the wheels looked brand new (probably not new, but definitely painted), the paint was perfect, two new tires, and other stuff. Fourth, there is that extra warranty tacked on to the end of the factory warranty.

The number of miles is not near as important as the quality of the miles and who previously owned it.

If it was previously owned by some youngerster who stuck to the factory free maintenance and thrashed it in between factory service, I'd walk. If it was some dude that changed the oil every 7000 miles and mostly put on highway miles, it's a gem.