ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Technical Talk > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

04-30-2012, 07:05 PM   #1
txz4
Major
Rep
Drives: 2006 M coupe

best Auto X class for me?

So im curious what the best class is in auto x to be competitive? Im doing it for fun but im too competitive to not compare.

Mod list: rpi scoop/drop in filter, RPI axle back, euro headers. Thats it for important mods.

Right now im running BSP, im getting owned by modded s2000s and BS is even worse, nothing but s2000cr's on Hoosiers.

Im new to the sport and am having a hard time understanding the classes.
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2012, 08:48 PM   #2
BaldTyres
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: 2008 BMW M Roadster

With headers installed, your only choice is really BSP. I would suggest upgrading your suspension and tires/wheels. Look for some coilovers and sway bars. And also some wider, lighter wheels with some good, sticky tires - something like Star Specs or Hankook RS3s.

And, yes, the S2000s are killin' BSP this year.
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2012, 08:52 PM   #3
Trev
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: Z4MC

For SCCA as you've found out those mods put you in BSP. If you want to be competitive there you'll need shocks & tires.

If you we're to take the car back to stock you'll be in AS. Can't tell you you'll be better off there either. Boxsters & Caymans are ruling it this year.

IMO it's no fun taking your hard earned kit off, so try your local SCCA club's reg's for a Street Tire class.

Either way your best bet is to put a thick skin on & learn from the quick guys. Ask for ride alongs & take whatever instruction you can get. Lastly check out the evolution ax school.
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2012, 09:00 PM   #4
txz4
Major
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trev View Post