E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > USA - Northwest > Speed Ticket

09-03-2007, 05:24 PM   #1
y2b3k
Private
Canada
Rep
Drives: E92 328i

Speed Ticket

Hi guys,

I got a speeding ticket this labor day weekend. I was on the I-5 heading North to Bellingham when I got pulled over for speeding. The speed limit was 70mph and I was going 96mph.

What is considered excessive speeding in Washington? I got a ticket for 2nd degree negligent driving which is $550, so I decided to look around the I-Net to see my options. I found out that going over the speed limit by 25-30mph has a fine of only $247... My driving record has been decent, 1 speeding ticket last summer (June/Jul) and no DUIs. I have not gotten into an accident before either.

Should I try to fight this ticket and ask them to reduce the fine, or should I just pay it? I don't think I was being reckless because there were no cars in front or behind me (long stretch of empty road)... Oh btw, should I contest the charge because I believe that I was not being negligent, or should i just have a mitigation hearing and ask the judge to reduce the fine if I decide to challenge the ticket?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by y2b3k; 09-03-2007 at 05:28 PM.. Reason: edit
Appreciate 0
      09-03-2007, 05:47 PM   #2
alistair
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2013 X5 ///M

Garage List
2013 BMW X5///M  [0.00]
That sucks - sorry to hear

Was the road dry and conditions clear?
Were you on your cellphone at the time?
Was the trooper/cop hiding, or in "plain sight"?
Appreciate 0
      09-03-2007, 07:51 PM   #3
douger
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: E90 328xi

Washington's hidden "Driving Tax"