F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Tracking / Racing / Autocrossing > Autocross Tires: Widest or Lightest?
Studio RSR

07-17-2013, 09:23 PM   #1
nilfinite
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: F83 M4 & E89 Z4

Autocross Tires: Widest or Lightest?

Getting a set of autocross wheels & tires. 18x8 wheels to stay within SCCA stock guidelines while also getting a square setup.

I've read somewhere in the past that its best to fit the widest tires possible on the wheels for autocross. Is that true? Or is there a balance between tire size and tire weight?

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      07-23-2013, 01:40 PM   #2
Forgiven
Lieutenant
No_Country
Rep
Drives: 22, X5 45e

I am no expert but that's not true. It's all about stickiness of the tire. Also lighter tires will get more benefits than having light weight wheels.
Wider tires= heavy tires. Especially for autocross, you want ur car to be quick.
      07-23-2013, 08:06 PM   #3
nilfinite
Private First Class
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forgiven View Post
I am no expert but that's not true. It's all about stickiness of the tire. Also lighter tires will get more benefits than having light weight wheels.
Wider tires= heavy tires. Especially for autocross, you want ur car to be quick.
Definitely agree about the stickiness. Assuming the same tire, just wondering what would be best.

Based on a bunch of research, I looks the most people say you should get the widest tires you can fit (within reason).

http://farnorthracing.com/autocross_secrets4.html
http://drivefast.org/novice-tips/tire-tips/
Appreciate 0
      07-23-2013, 08:43 PM   #4
Alpine F31
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: MB E350 4MATIC Estate

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forgiven View Post
Also lighter tires will get more benefits than having light weight wheels.