E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Tracking, Autocrossing, Dragstrip, Driving Techniques > How to start tracking?

09-30-2007, 04:28 PM   #1
digi
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2011 e92 m3

How to start tracking?

Hey guys, I really want to start going to tracks( courses, not dragstrips) but I'm not sure where to start. I am completely new to this and about the only track/autox experience I have is at the bmw pdc in SC when we picked up my brother's m3. My question is where do I start? Do I need to go to a driving school, or do I just call up a race track nearby and ask for schedule and info? And for those that have experience, what tracks on the southeast coast are appropriate/fun for novices like myself? I've always wanted to utilize the performance cars I get for something other than the occasional spirited drive on unpredictable public roads. Any help, links, info would be much appreciated. Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2007, 08:58 PM   #2
leftcoastman
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: 335i

BMW Driver's Education course. Try your local BMW CCA chapter.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2007, 06:58 AM   #3
ToddPhilly
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: BMW 335i Coupe

Quote:
Originally Posted by leftcoastman View Post
BMW Driver's Education course. Try your local BMW CCA chapter.
Yup. Go to www.bmwcca.org and sign up! You'll get all the Driver's Ed info from your local bmwcca chapter.

You'll need to get a tech inspection for your car prior to going to an event, and you will need a snell 2005 approved helmet. All of those details will be on your bmwcca site. Other than that...enjoy
      10-01-2007, 07:48 AM   #4
2e9x's
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: 335i ED 7/07

There are a number of good ways to get started, but attending as many schools as possible is a great idea!