E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / Warranty > Mobil 1 or Mobil 1 Extended Performance?

12-02-2013, 12:41 PM   #1
only1harry
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2011 E92 335i xDrive

Mobil 1 or Mobil 1 Extended Performance?

Which one do you Mobil 1 guys use in your cars? I am picking up a 335 tomorrow (my first BMW) and the last oil change was 5k mi. ago. The dealer won't change it (for free) saying it doesn't need it for another 5k or more, but I want to change it. I don't know what's in there now.

I keep reading about Mobil 1 "Euro". I don't know what that is. Walmart only carries the regular Mobil 1 oil and Extended performance. I would like a full synthetic oil (Group IV), and I think that's the Extended Performance. I think the regular Mobil 1 is Group III which is a blend. I have been using Mobil 1 in my cars for over 20 years and really like it.

Does anyone use the MB 1 Extended Perf. 5W-30 on their turbo motors?
WM does not carry the 0W-40 in the MB1 EP. I want the right oil and viscosity to get me through the New York winter but it has to be a full synthetic. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Harry
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2013, 12:57 PM   #2
pk_
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: E92 335i X-Drive

Yeah I don't think Walmart carries it either. I picked up mine at a local Canadian Tire up here..

Not too familiar with what you guy's have down in the U.S, but I would assume either a Autozone or NAPA would carry it...

Now what I've seen very common is, that hard part is finding the oil in a 5L Jug. If you look at the 5L Jugs you wont find it, I had to buy (7) 1L Bottles. On the front it will say Mobil 1 European Car Formula/Blend, but most importantly on the back it will list that it is BMW LL01 Certified.