Autotalent
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning

02-20-2014, 11:12 AM   #1
RocketBoots
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: Horse Drawn Carriage

Engine Bay Layout

Coming from and E36M3 and E46M3, and never having owned an E9X or F3X, I have no experience with FI. Looking at the engine bay of the F8X, what is the plastic box on the 'cylinder' side, sort of behind the headlight, and the one on the 'intercooler' (driver's) side, sort of behind the headlight? I'm just used to the air intake being on the driver's side. Do FI engines have a second air filter?? Once again, I've only ever had NA engines, so please excuse the sillyness of the question. Thanks.

And why is there no dipstick?
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2014, 11:17 AM   #2
PABrian
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: BMW

There hasn't been a dipstick on a BMW in years, unfortunately. Gotta trust the computer.

Looking at that picture, the box on the passenger side behind the headlight is one intake box, and the similar-looking box on the driver's side is the other. Each turbo gets its own intake.
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2014, 11:33 AM   #3
Tonymiabmw
Colonel
Rep
Drives: Nardo F90 M5 on order

Ok so see there is a Air to Water intercooler. What are going to be the possibility of larger front mount intercooler or is there no room?
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2014, 11:47 AM   #4
drob23
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: S4

So how do the dealerships do oil changes? They use the actual drain plug and go old school? Figured most dealerships just sucked it out of the dip stick insert. My car didn't come with a dip-stick but you can buy one, remove a plastic cap and install it.
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2014, 11:57 AM   #5
NewNole2001
Banned
Rep
Drives: 2012 E93 328i, 2015 F8

Quote:
Originally Posted by drob23 View Post