BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

03-26-2015, 10:46 PM   #1
gemini.m3
Major
Rep
Drives: 2022 M3 xDrive comp

Performance suspension + Non RFT

Anybody have this setup? how does it ride? Looking at this specific setup with the super sport tires. I hear when you go non RFT on stock m-sport / sport suspension car feels really funny, does anyone experience this with performance susp?
2015 335i (retired)
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 08:48 AM   #2
andrey_gta
Brigadier General
Canada
Rep
Drives: 130i coupé ;)

Garage List
2008 BMW 128i  [10.00]
From what I heard - great.
The Perf shocks are well done

"The 1-series is the last car that BMW engineered before the Germans, as a car-making culture, fell out of love with driving." - R&T 2013 135is
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2015, 10:54 PM   #3
BMW135pls
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: Bucket of screws and sadness

I'm pretty new to this exact setup, but I do have some input on it anyway. The stock car on RFTs actually made me physically dizzy from driving on our local roads, which are not well taken care of on the grand scale. It was stiff, but in a bad way. I switched to Non-RFTs last year and the ride quality increase was large due to the softer sidewalls, but the performance increase was still less than expected. I believe this was due to the fact that the stock suspension was designed with RFTs in mind, so it was pretty soft by sports car standards and the rear end was very loose. Just a few days ago I got the M RSFB bushings installed, along with a new set of Michelin PSS tires, and it is clear that the suspension can now handle the power the car has. No more sidekick on launch, and no more snake on straight pulls.