BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)

Mporium BMW

08-11-2015, 10:47 PM   #1
Z06Mike
Rep
Drives: Corvette

New to BMWs and looking at E92 M3's but have some questions.

Hey there,

It's my first time posting here after a long stint on the Corvetteforum and owning Corvettes I think it's time to move on and try something different.

I've owned many Corvettes and well I just always end up selling them due to lack of satisfaction and not driving them. I've owned numerous C5 Z06s and a couple C6 Z06s. I've determined after owning them that a car that I pay $XXX to sit in the garage isn't for me, I would like something that can be my daily driver but also take out to the occasional track day.

This weekend I went to a local dealer with intentions of test driving a 2012 CTS-V coupe with a six speed. After looking around I noticed they had a beautiful 2011 mineral white E92 M3. I looked in the interior and immediately dismissed it because it had the DCT. The salesman asked if I had ever driven one and I said no....about five minutes later I was screaming down the street running that 4.0 V8 out to 8000RPM (sounds very nice). Lol Needless to say I was VERY impressed with the DCT and the M3 as a whole. I think the car would be a great DD for myself and something I could take out to Laguna Seca or Thunderhill every once in awhile.

But I know NOTHING about BMW's. So I need some help.

Reliability and maintenance is obviously a concern but from everything I've read the E92 and the DCT are extremely reliable. Is this true? I would consider a third party warranty.