BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)

European Auto Source (EAS)

08-28-2015, 09:03 PM   #1
MachinesWithSouls
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2022 M3 6MT

Garage List
2022 BMW M3  [10.00]
Sport bike comparo

That title is a bit misleading. Let me explain.

I've been thinking of getting my motorcycle license. It's been a rough year for me thus far, and I find myself taking the M3 out a lot on the back roads near my house.

Of course the car continues to amaze, but I find myself in an odd place with it. I don't want to supercharge or tune it; I don't think these cars respond to well and I'd prefer it stock. I do track it, but again, it's sort of heavy to be doing that all the time. It burns through, uhh, everything, very fast.

So perhaps a bike is the way to go. I have zero experience with motorcycles, but would like it to match the rest of my very blue and very BMW garage. Would an F800 be a good starting place? Really, this is a purchase for myself, and I'm wondering if I can commit to another hobby.

It's taken years of owning cars, and in particular my M3, to really get the most out of it. With a bike, it's all new to me, so my vast car knowledge is useless.

Anyone on here ride? If so, what was your first bike? And how do you like the experience compared to your M3?
      08-28-2015, 09:28 PM   #2
1MOREMOD
-
United_States
Rep
Drives: Race car->

I have had several bikes. First one was an r1 but had ridden 2 stroke dirt bikes for some time prior. I enjoyed the bike and also had a big dog ridgeback but never rode that much. I always would think I should ride to work or whatever but only found myself riding as a screw off hobby thing never with any purpose or destination. Because I found tracking my car more fun and didn't ride much I sold them. I have been getting the itch for a bmw 1000rr or new r1 though.