BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Cosmetic/Visual (Exterior + Interior) Modifications

EXXEL Distributions

09-01-2009, 08:28 PM   #1
Swancoat
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: E92 M3

Installed CF Hood Vents.

I bought some Carbon Fiber Hood Vents from Kubo here on the forum.

There's pics below.

The vendor was good to deal with. He shipped the vents promptly as soon as my payment cleared, and they were packed well. The vents are the real deal. Dry CF, not wrapped stock pieces. They match the roof perfectly.

This is both the best and worst aspect of the vents. Fit and Finish are not one in the same here. Finish is wonderful. The vents simply look great. As I said, they match the hood roof perfectly. Fit was a bit of a different story.

After I got the original vents out (believe me, at this point, I am a PRO at removing and reinstalling these things), I tried to put the new CF ones in. They don't pop right in like the stock ones. This is reasonable as they are a different material, and not as flexible. However, as I fiddled with it more, I realized I was not going to get them to fit. They seemed to take way too much force and still seem really tight. (Tough to convince yourself to pound on your hood to fit a trim piece).

I contacted the vendor, who assured me they just needed force and that ALL pieces were test fitted on a car before they left, and that I may need to install the vents before I put them in the hood. (That last point made no sense. I assume he meant install the honeycomb grills, but it is impossible to install these onto the trim pieces before they are fitted to the hood, as the two pieces must slide in opposite directions).