BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

01-22-2010, 04:49 PM   #1
AntonV
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: Sedona/Savanna 135i

Having a hard time choosing pads for my Flex

There are so many choices of pads, im getting frustrated on which to choose. At the moment, I only need to remove the lightest of swirl marks. no major correction is needed. Not yet at least, lol.

So im basically looking for a pad to:

1)apply a fine polish
2)apply a more aggressive polish if im not happy with the first and lightest application
3)apply a finishing/jeweling polish
4)apply sealant

Heres my dilemma. My flex came with 2 blue LC 6.5 pads. My first problem is whether to buy 5.5 or 6.5 pads. I have never used an electric buffer before, so I dont know which will serve me better.

Then there are the actual pads. Im thinking of sticking with LC pads the whole way through

Seems like ill need white pads for applying the polish,
possibly an orange pad for more aggressive applications.

Gold pad for final polish - nano polish?

Red pad for sealant application.

Now there are also Hydro-Tech pads. Im sooooo confused. Can someone shed some light on this for me

2005 BMW F650 GS - Mandarin Yellow - Farkled
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2010, 06:02 PM   #2
HPFREAK
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: C6 ZO6